Full Flower Moon

Watch the Full Flower Moon Blossom!

April 30, 2021
Full Flower Moon - OFA

In May, the full Moon is called the full Flower Moon! This Moon follows April’s Full Pink Moon.

Why Is It Called the Flower Moon?

As the season of spring progresses, the days grow longer and the weather improves, inspiring plants everywhere to “spring forth” and blossom! By May, winter’s cold grip has loosened and many plants take the opportunity to produce flowers at this time. Due to this, May’s full Moon has traditionally been known as the Flower Moon.

Learn more about the Moon names for every month, including your birthday month!

When to See the Full Flower Moon

The full Flower Moon rises in the evening of Tuesday, May 25. It will reach peak illumination at 7:14 A.M. Eastern Daylight Time the next morning, on Wednesday, May 26, but will be below the horizon at this time and won’t be visible. Step outside on Tuesday evening for the best view of the bright and beautiful full Flower Moon!

A Supermoon Eclipse

May’s full Moon will be the second (and last) supermoon of the year! A supermoon is just a little bit brighter and larger than a regular full Moon, though it’s hard to tell the difference with the naked eye! 

May’s full Moon also coincides with a total lunar eclipse. A total lunar eclipse occurs when Earth stands directly between the Moon and the Sun, which results in Earth casting its shadow on the Moon. During a total lunar eclipse, the Moon takes on a red-colored glow.

If you are located in western North America, you will have a chance to see the total lunar eclipse happen in the very early morning hours of Wednesday, May 26. Elsewhere, you will be able to see a partial lunar eclipse. The best part of the eclipse begins at 5:45 A.M. EDT (2:45 A.M. PDT) and ends at 8:53 A.M. EDT (5:53 A.M. PDT). The Moon will be near the horizon at this time, so try to find a hill or open area to view the show from!